top of page
  • Writer's picture Raw & Real

5 Fashion Items That Went From Out to In

By Samantha Jenkins


Between consistent markdowns and endless sales, online shopping has never looked like it does during Covid-19. And with all of this free time on my hands, I am continuously looking at clothes to buy with nowhere to go. My motive behind online shopping during quarantine is knowing one day I will be able to wear my newly purchased clothes out to a bar, or to a restaurant, or even better to a summer concert. So while we are inside dreaming of the day we can get ready for something other than quarantine happy hour at 3PM, let's take a look at five fashion items that used to be considered out of style and are starting to make a comeback. These items are waiting to be purchased in my online shopping carts and I have a feeling you’ll be adding them to yours as well.


1. Flip Flops

When I hear the word flip flops, I think back to my Rainbow Sandal days. If you don’t know what I am talking about, then you missed out on the “hottest” trend. But for those of you who did live through the Rainbow Sandal phase, you most likely don’t see them as the hottest fashion item now. To be completely honest, I never thought flip flops would make a re-appearance in fashion trends. However, here we are in 2020, seeing them styled with dresses, trousers and even suits. And no, I don’t mean Rainbow Sandals. I’m talking about new and improved sandals that are easier to style lol. Flip flops took a turn from once thought of as a casual item to a stylish statement piece needed in every wardrobe. Whether you like the look of a black leather flip flop or a flip flop with a small heel, they are slowly becoming shoppable on every fashion site. 


2. Baguette Bags

I am the happiest about baguette bags! While this trend has already blown up in urban cities, the micro mini trend is helping small, square bags become a fashion icon everywhere. Why carry a massive, lumpy shoulder bag around all day when you can instead comfortably show off a cute mini bag that holds your essentials: wallet, lipgloss and keys. AND it completes your look in an effortless way. It’s a win win if you ask me. 


3. Polo Shirts

We’ve witnessed cardigans show a comeback as fast as we realized 2020 isn’t our year. What is better than cardigans though? Polo shirts!! I am on board with this trend for two reasons: the first being that I grew up in the south. The second reason being that they are SEXY! The preppy, dad shirt vibe is what’s in. The best part about polo shirts is that you can wear them however you’d like, whether it’s a casual stroll outside or a night out on the town. The styling options are endless depending on if the polo is more fitted or relaxed. Polos are a fashionable vintage piece that I am excited to see back on us  girls either way post quarantine.


4. Ankle Socks

Gone are the days of associating ankle socks to a man’s wardrobe (although I’ve always worn them). Ankle socks have inevitably become more than just a clothing necessity, they’ve become a fashion accessory. A fashion accessory that looks fabulous paired with loafers, boots or sneakers. This trend serves both the girly girl and the hype beast; pair your Nike tube socks with your summer slides or your lace trimmed ankle socks with a pair of heels. Now, for how long this fad will last I’m not sure, but I can tell you ankle socks have been my wardrobe staple piece for the past 5 weeks. 


5. Bootcut Jeans

The revival of bootcut jeans is here once again. This trend has come and gone endless times which makes me wonder if it ever went out of style at all. However, this time around the flared denim silhouette is seen styled numerous different ways thanks to designers such as Marc Jacobs, Celine and Gucci. Whether you decide to wear your bootcut jeans with a pair of old converse or a pair of new platform sandals, you’ll be with the trends for summer 2020.





58 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page